The Name & Meaning of “Paul’s”


Sunday, February 21, 2010

Raining once again

As some of you may know, the very first man to start this hat shop was named Napoleon Marquez (quite Pirate sounding, no?). But to avoid the complications that came with introducing yourself as Napoleon, he usually went by “Paul.” The next in line was named Kelly, and I assume, as what happened to the third owner, Michael, that he answered to Paul. Frequently customers come in and tell us how they met and knew Paul, of course it was Michael who they knew. All of this, plus the recent tv segment done on PHW on channel 5, where the four of us gals answer to Paul as well, I am brought to mind a passage from a favorite film and novel of mine “The Princess Bride” :

“Well, Roberts had grown so rich, he wanted to retire. He took me to his cabin and he told me his secret. ‘I am not the Dread Pirate Roberts’, he said. ‘My name is Ryan; I inherited the ship from the previous Dread Pirate Roberts, just as you will inherit it from me. The man I inherited it from is not the real Dread Pirate Roberts either. His name was Cummerbund. The real Roberts has been retired 15 years and living like a king in Patagonia.”

In this same vein I like to think about Paul’s Hat Works, that it is the name that makes it what it is, a place rich in history and craft. A Paul, like the Dread Pirate Roberts, must be courageous and a little mad, skilled, and shrewd. I know that the four of us Pauls will find more worthy Pauls to take the title, and preserve the legacy and reputation behind it. I hope this hat shop will always be Paul’s Hat Works.

~ Paul V

